Police Federation

Presenting our 2020 Police Bravery Awards nominees

Ninety-four individuals representing 42 forces are being celebrated for incredible acts of heroism

24 September 2020

Police Bravery Awards logo

The Police Federation of England and Wales (PFEW) is proud to unveil the 2020 nominees for our annual Police Bravery Awards.

Ninety-four individuals representing 42 forces are being celebrated for their incredible acts of heroism, ranging from rescuing members of the public from fast flowing rivers, to entering burning buildings and grappling with offenders armed with swords and firearms.

The nominees include PC Geoff Marshall of Derbyshire Constabulary, who risked his life to deploy sandbags in the Whaley Bridge dam incident that made national headlines. And husband and wife PCs, Jack and Joanna Wilber of the Greater Manchester force, who put themselves in harm's way to protect a woman being attacked outside their home.

Joanna was pregnant at the time and Jack was stabbed twice and suffered a broken rib.

The 2020 event – the 25th National Police Bravery Awards – had been scheduled to take place this past summer but had to be postponed due to Coronavirus.

Instead the nominees will attend a prestigious daytime reception and evening awards ceremony in London in July 2021.

PFEW National Chair, John Apter said: “We are incredibly proud of all the nominees from across England and Wales. The actions of these courageous officers provide a small snapshot of the amazing work our colleagues carry out day in and day out. As a Police Federation, we wanted to make sure these brave officers received the recognition they deserve in the year their actions were meant to be celebrated.

“And we look forward to seeing them all in person – and revealing regional and national winners - when the time is right in 2021.”

The awards are sponsored by Police Mutual. John Perks, Chief Executive Officer of Police Mutual, said: “We are, as always, proud to be supporting the National Police Bravery Awards in its 25th anniversary year. Despite having to postpone the original ceremony, the officers’ courage has never been forgotten – they all showed commitment to keeping the public safe in the most demanding of circumstances.

“We very much look forward to meeting all the nominated officers in July 2021 for the ceremony, and our chance to give our thanks in person.”

The nominees will be revealed in full on our website from today (24 September).

We use cookies on this website, you can read about them here To use the website as intended please... ACCEPT COOKIES