Police Federation

National Council

The National Council (NC) comprises the Chair and Secretary of each of our 43 Police Federation Branches, as well as representatives with protected characteristics.

The role of the NC is to hold the National Board (NB) to account for how it runs and leads the Federation. The National Board consults with the Council on major policy and budget issues. The Council also receives and approves the annual report and accounts.

Council officially existed from its first meeting on 19 and 20 September 2018. The NC replaced the Interim National Council (INC) which was established after all recommendations of the Independent Review were accepted at Annual Conference in 2014.  

The Chair and Secretary of each Branch are given on the Contact us page.

The representatives with protected characteristics are:

Region 1 - North West

  • Wendy Sudworth (Merseyside)

Region 2 - North East

  • Karen Harden (Northumbria)

Region 3 - Midlands

  • Sue Cheek (West Midlands)

Region 4 - Eastern

  • Nadia Rana (Leicestershire)
  • Helen Self (Suffolk)

Region 5 - South East

  • Aileen O’Connor (Thames Valley)

Region 6 - South West

  • Toni Buller (Dorset)

Region 7 - Wales

  • Elizabeth “Liz” Owen (North Wales)

Region 8 - London

  • Kamran Qureshi (Metropolitan)
  • Sam Chughtai (Metropolitan)
We use cookies on this website, you can read about them here To use the website as intended please... ACCEPT COOKIES