90 days from today is Mon, 16 September 2024

Avon & Somerset Police Federation

Avon and Somerset Police officers celebrated at the National Police Bravery Awards

14 October 2021

Congratulations to our colleagues PC Dean Sobey and PC Rowan Birch on their nomination for the 2020 Police Bravery Awards.

They joined more 90 officers from across England and Wales at the delayed Awards in London on Tuesday (12 October).

They attended Downing Street and then a prestigious Awards ceremony at the Central London Hotel. 

You can read about their story here. 

A police officer known widely as ‘Britain’s bravest cop’ was named overall winner of the prestigious Awards, sponsored by Police Mutual.

Metropolitan PC Stuart Outten suffered multiple stab wounds and skull fractures, but managed to use his Taser to disable an attacker who was armed with a machete. In the horrific attack, he suffered six deep wounds to his head, skull fractures, and two wounds to his arm and multiple finger fractures.

In addition to PC Outten’s award, seven inspirational, regional winners have been recognised for going above and beyond the line of duty.

Congratulations to all regional winners:

  • PS Simon Hogg and Retired PC Paul Cowling, Durham
    • PS Amos Durose and PC Kristian Avons, Staffordshire
    • PC Geoff Marshall, Derbyshire
    • PC Roz Fricker, Dorset
    • PC Richard Shea, PC Matthew Reynolds, North Wales
    • An officer who cannot be named, South East 
    • PC Joanna Wilber and PC Jack Wilber, Greater Manchester

A total of 93 nominees from 42 forces in England and Wales were honoured at the 2020 edition of the event – which celebrated its’ 25th year.