90 days from today is Fri, 13 September 2024

Gloucestershire Police Federation

National Fed Structure

Branch level

Each police force in England and Wales has a Police Federation Branch. Branches are made up of local workplace representatives for that force, the Branch Council, who are elected by members from that force - workplace reps undertake their work alongside their duties as a full-time police officer.  A Branch Board is elected from the Branch Council, which includes Branch Secretary, Chair and Treasurer. Branch Boards meet regularly through the year to consider issues that affect their electorate. 

Branch Boards act as the negotiation and consultative body when dealing with their force's Chief Constable, senior officers and the Police and Crime Commissioners, providing an effective link between officers and senior management. They deal with the day-to-day problems Federated officers face, and work to improve the status of the police service and its members.


National level

The Branch Chair and Secretary from each force, as well as other individuals from protected characteristics groups, make up the National Council which meets regularly through the year to discuss national issues. From the National Council, a National Board is elected by National Council members.

The National Board along with the National Council are the key decision-making bodies for the organisation.


Each of the 43 Joint Branch Boards are also part of one of eight regions:

Region 1: North West
(comprising Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside)

Region 2: North East
(comprising Cleveland, Durham, Humberside, Northumbria, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire)

Region 3: Midlands
(comprising Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Mercia, West Midlands)

Region 4: Eastern
(comprising Cambridgeshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Suffolk)

Region 5: South East
(comprising Bedfordshire, Essex, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, Surrey, Sussex, Thames Valley)

Region 6: South West
(comprising Avon & Somerset, Devon & Cornwall, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Wiltshire)

Region 7: Wales
(comprising Dyfed Powys, Gwent, North Wales, South Wales)

Region 8: London
(comprising City of London, Metropolitan)