Bravery Awards 2017

The Police Bravery Awards are presented every year to honour police officers who have performed outstanding acts of bravery while on or off duty.

Here are the nominations and winners for the 2017 Bravery Awards which took place on 13 July.  There were 71 nominees from 40 force areas, with eight regional awards given on the night and one overall award presented.

Overall winner: PC Sarah Currie, PC Michael Otterson and Sgt Elliott Richardson from Northumbria
Region 1 winner: PC Robert Shakespeare, Greater Manchester Police
Region 2 winner: PC Sarah Currie, PC Michael Otterson and Sgt Elliott Richardson, Northumbria Police
Region 3 winner: PC James Neilson and PC Ryan Patel, West Midlands Police
Region 4 winner: Sgt Iain McIvor and Sgt David Wilson, Lincolnshire Police
Region 5 winner: Sgt Richard Burgess, Essex Police
Region 6 winner: PC Moore and PC Karl Wood, Devon & Cornwall Police
Region 7 winner: PC Marc Woods, Dyfed-Powys Police
Region 8 winner: PC Alex Field, PC Jason Hodgson, PC Sam Homer, PC Wayne Pullen and PC Marc Woolmer, Metropolitan Police

Prime Minister celebrates police bravery

Brave officers honoured to meet HRH The Countess of Wessex