National Board

The role of the National Board (NB) is to lead and run the Federation, and to make policy decisions. It is the strategic driver of the organisation, formulating strategy and putting it to the National Council.

The NB is made up of 24 representatives from across our eight regions:

  • The National Chair - elected by members
  • 22 individuals (elected by the National Council)
  • The National Secretary - appointed by members of the Board

The new National Board officially came into effect from 1 September 2018 replacing the Interim National Board (INB) which existed during a period of organisational change from 2014.

There are eight Principal Officers within the NB, of which the Chair and General Secretary are two. The remaining roles are National Treasurer, National Vice Chair, Deputy National Secretary, Deputy Treasurer, Head of Civil Claims and Head of Criminal Claims.


National Chair

John Apter

National Secretary

Alex Duncan

Region 1 - North West

Dave Bamber

College of Policing lead

Barry Fletcher


Ian Saunders

Region 2 - North East

Zuleika Payne

Learning and Development lead

Andy Ward

Head of Criminal Claims


Region 3 - Midlands

Hayley Aley

Peggy Lamont

Equality lead

Region 4 - East

Craig Hewitt

Head of Civil Claims

Tiff Lynch

Phill Matthews

Region 5 - South East

Ché Donald

National Vice Chair

Tim Packham

National Treasurer

Karen Stephens

Region 6 - South West

Sarah Johnson

Simon Kempton

Deputy National Treasurer

Region 7 - Wales

Calum Macleod

Zac Mader

Region 8 - London

Dave Blundell

Belinda Goodwin


Steve Hartshorn

Clive Knight

John Partington

Deputy National Secretary